Headlands Center for the Arts

2018 Awardees

We are delighted to announce our 2018 Artist in Residence awardees, including discipline-specific awards for painting, social practice, and teaching.

The 54 creative practitioners in this year’s lineup represent 15 countries, 15 states, and a multitude of practices that will come together here at Headlands with the direct support of fully sponsored, live-in fellowships designed to sustain their artistic processes. Artists will begin arriving for four to ten-week residencies starting in late February and running through November 2018.

Below (clockwise from top left): Lucas Foglia, New crop varieties for extreme weather. Geneva Greenhouses, New York State Agricultural Experiment Station, New York; Simone Forti, Angel, 1976; Benjamin Britton, The Way Is Open, 2017; Zulfikar Ali Bhutto; Ji Yeon Lim, Yaloohouse, Yes! Sebum, 2017 (installation view)

By discipline

Forster Rudolph, California
Doris Sung, California

Arts Professional
Mark Allen, California

Film/Video/New Media
Chinonye Chukwu, Ohio
Flatform, Germany/Italy
Kahlil Joseph, California
Ji Yeon Lim, Illinois/South Korea

Shimon Attie, New York
Sofía Córdova, Puerto Rico/California
Simone Forti, California
Jillian Mayer, Florida
Kambui Olujimi, New York
Gala Porras-Kim, California
Miriam Simun, Massachusetts
Anicka Yi, New York

Dina Maccabee, California
Guro Moe, Norway
Thao Nguyen, California
Jeff Parker, California

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, California/Pakistan
Paul Flores, California
Jennie Liu, California
Anna Martine Whitehead, Illinois

Social Practice
Bik van der Pol, Netherlands
Imani Jacqueline Brown, Louisiana
Frances Whitehead, Illinois

Visual Arts
Kelani Abass, Nigeria
Mequitta Ahuja, Maryland
Elin Bengtsson, Sweden
Benjamin Britton, Georgia
Hannah Collins, England
Dru Donovan, Oregon
Llewelynn Fletcher, Ohio
Lucas Foglia, California
Chris Fraser, California
Katharine Kuharic, New York
Fiamma Montezemolo, California
Lavar Munroe, Bahamas/Washington DC
Stéphanie Solinas, France
Rebecca Swan, New Zealand
Lucia Tallová, Slovakia
Richard Wentworth, England

Jamie Brisick, California
Masha Hamilton, New York
James Ijames, Pennsylvania
Nikyatu Jusu, New York
Paul La Farge, New York
ocean, Washington
Elaine Romero, Arizona
Tracy Rosenthal, California
Dean Spade, Washington
Caitlin Saylor Stephens, New York
Terese Svoboda, New York
Lance Twitchell, Alaska

Chamberlain Award for social practice to Frances Whitehead
The Chamberlain Award supports artists who display exceptional merit in the discipline of social practice with a fully sponsored residency and a $5,000 cash prize.

Chiaro Award for painting to Benjamin Britton
The Chiaro Award is a fully sponsored residency and 15,000 USD cash prize for an accomplished mid-career painter residing in the United States.

Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship to Katharine Kuharic
Administered in partnership with the San Francisco Art Institute, the Diebenkorn Fellowship fellowship provides an opportunity for visiting artists to teach at the school during their residency.

Project Space Residencies: Fiamma Cordero de Montezemolo, Lucas Foglia, Ji Yeon Lim, Gala Porras-Kim
Project Space presents site-specific exhibitions that are guided by information and experiences gathered while work is in progress at Headlands. Home to select Artists in Residence each season, as well as occasional group exhibitions by visiting artists and curators, Project Space is a place of exchange among working artists and visitors—a place where ideas are germinated, conversations are shared, and new work is made.