Headlands Center for the Arts

2019 Awardees

We are delighted to announce our 2019 Artist in Residence awardees, including individual artist awards.

The 59 creative practitioners in this year’s lineup represent 17 countries, 10 states, and a multitude of practices that will come together here at Headlands with the direct support of fully sponsored, live-in fellowships designed to sustain their artistic processes. Artists will begin arriving for four- to ten-week residencies starting in mid-March and running through November 2019.

Below: work by Headlands 2019 Artist in Residence awardees (top to bottom, left to right): Monique van Genderen, Anna Fitch & Banker White, Erica Deeman, Dread Scott, Rodney Ewing, Kevin Cooley, Rachael Dichter & Allie Hankins, Stéphanie Solinas, and Vero Majano

By discipline

Hongtao Zhou, China

Arts Professional
Sylvie Fortin, Canada
Alexandra Halkin, Illinois
Diana Nawi, California
Siddharta Perez, Singapore/Philippines

Film/Video/New Media
Roger Beebe, Ohio
Peter Burr, New York
Eric Dyer, Maryland
Sara Harris & Jesse Lerner, California
Jodie Mack, Vermont
Stacey Steers, Colorado

Kelly Akashi, California
José León Cerrillo, Mexico
Martha Colburn, The Netherlands
Kevin Cooley, California
Rodney Ewing, California
Anna Fitch & Banker White, California
Emma Fitts, New Zealand
Carole Kim, California
Autumn Knight, New York
Vero Majano, California
Daniel Joseph Martinez, California
Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Germany
Paul O’Keeffe, Ohio

Yingjia (Lemon) Guo &  Sophia (Siyang) Shen, California/China/New York
Ingibjörg Friđriksdóttir, Iceland
Travis Laplante, Vermont
Fay Victor, New York

Rachael Dichter & Allie Hankins, California/Oregon
Freddy Gutierrez & David McKenna, California/United Kingdom
Jamal Harewood, United Kingdom

Social Practice
Tomie Arai, New York
Dread Scott, New York
jackie sumell, New York

Visual Art
Sadie Barnette, California
Nyame Brown, California
Jonathan Calm, California
Aslı Çavuşoğlu, Turkey
Elizabeth Colomba, New York/France
Erica Deeman, California/United Kingdom
Andreas Johansson, Sweden
Christopher Paul Jordan, Washington
Eric N. Mack, New York
Kate Nolan, Ireland
Kori Newkirk, California
Marjetica Potrč, Slovenia
Stéphanie Solinas, France
Monique van Genderen, California

Juliana Delgado Lopera, California
Tongo Eisen-Martin, California
Liana Finck, New York
Tonya Foster, California
Violeta Gil, Spain
Alexandra Kleeman, New York
Casandra Lopez, Washington
Saretta Morgan, Arizona
Amanda Petrusich, New York
Amy Sohn, New York
Nathan Yungerberg, New York

Chamberlain Award for social practice to Dread Scott
The Chamberlain Award supports artists who display exceptional merit in the discipline of social practice with a fully sponsored residency and a $5,000 cash prize.

Chiaro Award for painting to Monique van Genderen
The Chiaro Award is a fully sponsored residency and a $15,000 cash prize for an accomplished mid-career painter residing in the United States.

Larry Sultan Photography Award to Jonathan Calm
Presented in partnership with McEvoy Foundation for the Arts and Pier 24 Photography, with support from Black Dog Private Foundation and Jane & Larry Reed, the Larry Sultan Photography Award honors an exceptional artist in the medium.

McLaughlin Children’s Trust Award to Tongo Eisen-Martin
The McLaughlin Children’s Trust Award is a fully sponsored residency and a $10,000 cash prize for an exemplary writer exhibiting a clear dedication to their practice.

McLaughlin Foundation Award to Tomie Arai
The McLaughlin Foundation Award recognizes an established visual artist with a clear dedication to their practice and a substantial body of work with a fully sponsored residency and a $10,000 cash prize.

Project Space Residencies: Kelly Akashi, Martha Colburn, Rodney Ewing, Anna Fitch & Banker White, Kori Newkirk, and Stéphanie Solinas
Project Space presents site-specific exhibitions guided by information and experiences gathered while work is in progress at Headlands. Home to select Artists in Residence each season, as well as occasional group exhibitions by visiting artists and curators, Project Space is a place of exchange among working artists and visitors—a place where ideas are germinated, conversations are shared, and new work is made.

Headlands’ programs for artists and the public are supported in part by contributions from our Board of Directors, Members, and individual donors, along with funding from the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Kenneth Rainin Foundation, Koret Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Ohio Arts Council, Trust for Mutual Understanding, Bernard Osher Foundation, Barbro Osher Pro Suecia Foundation, James Wallace Arts Trust, California Arts Council, and Fleishhacker Foundation.