Headlands Center for the Arts

2017 Awardees

Headlands Center for the Arts is pleased to announce the 49 artists and collaboratives who have been awarded into its renowned Artist in Residence program for 2017, including discipline-specific awards for painting and social practice. The creative practitioners in this year’s lineup represent 13 countries, 11 states, and a multitude of practices that will come together here at Headlands with the direct support of fully sponsored, live-in residencies designed to sustain their artistic processes. The 2017 Artist in Residence sessions will begin this May.

Image: Vishal K. Dar (2017 Artist in Residence).

Listed by discipline


  • Karo Akpokiere, Nigeria
  • Vishal K. Dar, India
  • Inci Eviner, Turkey
  • Carl Hazlewood, New York
  • Julian Hoeber, California
  • Ellen Lesperance, Oregon | Chiaro Award
  • Nicolas Mastracchio, Argentina
  • Simon Morris, New Zealand
  • Brittany Nelson, Virginia
  • Jakub Nepraš, Czech Republic
  • Will Rogan, California | Project Space
  • Laura Sanders, Ohio
  • Lava Thomas, California
  • Milan Vagač, Slovakia
  • Alex Yudzon, New York


  • Indira Allegra, California
  • Lenka Clayton, Pennsylvania
  • Phillip Andrew Lewis, Tennessee | Project Space
  • Edra Soto, Illinois | Project Space

Social Practice

  • FICTILIS, California | Project Space
  • Maria Gaspar, Illinois | Chamberlain Award


  • Kazim Ali, Ohio
  • Catina Bacote, North Carolina
  • Samantha Giles, California
  • Anu Jindal, New York
  • Paul La Farge, New York
  • Carmen Machado, Pennsylvania
  • Maaza Mengiste, New York
  • Anna Moschovakis, New York
  • Keenan Norris, California
  • Caryl Pagel, Ohio
  • Erin Sheehy, New York


  • Michelle Ellsworth, Colorado
  • Monique Jenkinson, California
  • Margaret Kemp, California

Film/Video/New Media

  • Rosa Barba, Germany
  • Petra Bauer, Sweden
  • Luke Fowler, Scotland
  • Jodie Mack, New Hampshire
  • Deborah Stratman, Illinois


  • Amit Gilutz, Israel
  • Molly Joyce, New York
  • Mary Lattimore, Pennsylvania
  • Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Germany
  • Voicehandler, California


  • Commonstudio, California
  • Cooking Sections, Spain/Germany

Arts Professional

  • Stefanie Hessler, Sweden
  • Dominic Willsdon, California

Chiaro Award for painters to Ellen Lesperance. The Chiaro Award is a fully sponsored residency and $15,000 cash prize for an accomplished mid-career painter residing in the United States.

Chamberlain Award to Maria Gaspar. The Chamberlain Award supports artists who display exceptional merit in the discipline of social practice. The Chamberlain Award includes a fully sponsored residency and a $5,000 cash prize.

Project Space residencies announced with FICTILIS, Phillip Andrew Lewis, Gala Porras-Kim, Edra Soto, and Will Rogan. Project Space presents site-specific exhibitions that are guided by information and experiences gathered while work is in progress at Headlands. Home to select Artists in Residence each season, as well as occasional group exhibitions by visiting artists and curators, Project Space is a place of exchange among working artists and visitors—a place where ideas are germinated, conversations are shared, and new work is made.